Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
Board Update
Connie Newman
Monday, November 11, 2019


Thank you for your initiative to provide our youth with skills and tools for a successful life.  

The board met and approved the following items:

Please welcome our new board members;  Shirley Clark, Grayling and Lindsay Sturm, McGrath and our returning board members Ken Chase and Walt Maakestad.  They were officially sworn in by Ali Dale, Board Chair. 

We would also like to take this opportunity to thank Ray Collins for his 47 years of service to IASD.  He received a special thank you at the AASB conference with help from Rudy Hamilton.  

The reorganization of the board and committee members was tabled until our VTC meeting December 17.  

The board: approved the IASD 504 Policy Handbook
                  approved the contract for ongoing Power School Support   

                   approved attendance for Negotiation committee to attend conference
                   approved contracts for Powerschool, Migrant & Oasis
                   approved review of Indian Policies and Procedures
                   approved Personnel Recommendations
                   approved Policy #6153 changes
                   approved Policy #3515 changes
                   tabled policy #5113 and the Kindergarten early entrance policy
                   approved request for students early entrance in Anvik
                   approved 2018 audit

Next regular meeting is set for Tuesday December 17 3:00 work session and 4:00 board meeting.

We still have an open seat for the Yukon.

Connie A. Newman, Superintendent

Iditarod Area School District

Box 90

McGrath, AK  99627